Democrats Win Senate Majority in Georgia Runoffs

Georgia held two senate runoff elections on Jan. 5 following the regularly scheduled election that was held Nov. 3, 2020. 

The race between Raphael Warnock (D) and Kelly Loeffer (R) was a special runoff election that followed the retirement of Sen. Johnny Isakson (R). Isakson retired on Dec. 31, 2019 due to health reasons and his term will end in 2023. Loeffer was then appointed to fill Isakson’s seat and Warnock challenged.

Neither candidate won majority in the regular election, causing the runoffs. The second race was a general runoff election between Jon Ossoff (D) and David Perdue (R). Purdue was incumbent and Ossoff was challenging. 

The Associated Press has announced Warnock and Ossoff have won their elections in very close races. Both races having less than a 1% difference. 

These elections decided which party was going to hold the majority in the senate. One Republican needed to win to keep their majority. Both Democrats needed to win to create a 50/50 split and Vice president-elect Kamala Harris would be the deciding vote leaning in the Democratic favor. Democrats now hold the Senate majority, House of Representatives majority, and the White House.

Related Posts

One thought on “Democrats Win Senate Majority in Georgia Runoffs

Got a Comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.