Time to Shine Online: Virtual All-State Finishes First Round

The first round of the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) all-state choir auditions finished on Mon, Oct 19, with 27 TCHS students advancing, the most of any school that competed in the region. This year, the top 12 students in each voice part per region advanced after the initial round of auditions. The typically 4-round audition process is a little different this year as it’s entirely virtual and only 3 rounds long, cutting the number of competitors significantly.

The process of an all-state audition for each round is essentially the same, students learn the entirety of each song required for that rounded only learn the cuts of that piece that they will be judged on shortly before the audition. Rather than having a roughly 10 hour day of auditioning, students recorded their audition for submission on the TMEA-approved app MusicFirst. The cuts for round 1 were released on Oct 10, and submissions were due by Oct 14 at midnight.

“The biggest challenge by far was getting a good recording in…it was a huge advantage to be able to redo your audition as many times as you wanted, but here’s the thing: so can everyone else, so it can be hard to decide whether or not you should leave it be or try again in chance you’ll do better than your competitors.” said Junior Claire Remo.

The following students advanced to the next round. 

Sorpano 1:

1st Chair: Emma Johnson

4th Chair: Ainsley Perry

5th Chair: Reighly Bucher

7th Chair: Kenna Morris

8th Chair: Mina Haring

10th Chair: Triana Gonzalez

Soprano 2:

2nd Chair: Amber Johnson

6th Chair: Sam Bustos

7th Chair: Kyra Rhoades

11th Chair: Taylor Harr

Alto 1:

1st Chair: Rachel Mareth

5th Chair: MacKenzie Braegger

11th Chair: Claire Remo

Alto 2:

1st Chair: Hutton Stiller

3rd Chair: Kirryn Parson

Tenor 1:

1st Chair: Kaedyn McClain

10th Chair: Arthur Frayzond

Tenor 2:

4th Chair: Andrew Corona

7th Chair: Noah Horton

8th Chair: Isaiah Blalock

9th Chair: Tyler Holton

10th Chair: Tim McCracken

Bass 1:

1st Chair: Parker Davis

2nd Chair: Alessandro Hernandez

Bass 2:

2nd Chair: Zachariah Collazo

3rd Chair: Houston Goff

4th Chair: Luke McCartney

Got a Comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.